Live your dream life today

June 10, 2009 at 10:50 pm (Uncategorized)

Last week my niece Emily invited me to her school. Her class opened a poetry cafe. It was really a cool idea. My sister and I went to the classroom where our 8 year old host brought us to a table and sat us down. We looked a menu and ordered 5 poems to be read. Emily came to the table with three other kids and they proceeded to recite the poems we ordered. When they were finished, they brought us a mint and thanked us for coming. And even though one of the poems was about a runny nose, I felt inspired and a little more cultured as we left.

The thing that struck me was how serious the kids took this exercise. They were immersed in the experience and we were swept up into it as well. For those 10-15 minutes we were living in a world where you order poems from a menu. I’ve been thinking about how our lives can be created from our imagination. We can really make stuff up as we go along. So many times, we are waiting to get permission to do things we’re passionate about. I say “Why wait?”

I once heard Jack Canfield talk about a party he went to called a “Come as You Will be in 5 Years” Party. Those who attended, pretended they were living the life of their dreams for that one night. I wonder what it would be like to live our lives as though we were already living the life of our dreams. I think it would be an interesting experiment to try. As you go through today, try to think like a kid and imagine a world where anything is possible. maybe take a leap and do something completely different and weird, just because you think it would be fun.

Leave a Reply

