Acknowledging your creative self

January 17, 2009 at 4:30 am (Uncategorized)

This last week I joined an online blogging book club where a group of creative individuals read a book and comment on it on their blogs. The book I’m reading is called The 12 Secrets of Highly Creative Women and I’m pretty excited about it. I’m always looking for an excuse to read more about living a creative life.

Chapter One is called Acknowledging our Creative Self.

The thing that really stood out to me in this opening chapter one was how familiar the story was. When Gail said “Like so many other midlife women, I was burned out from too much care-taking. I yearned for a gentler, slower pace and wanted to express my  creativity more directly,” I thought about how many times I’ve heard people tell me that same thing at Art Village. Because our purpose is to give people permission to make art, I’m very sensitive when it comes to encouraging people to express themselves creatively.

Many people have some painful past experience that has lodged itself into their heart and that experience creates a fear of expression. I think it is important to acknowledge that everyone, (yes, that includes you) has a creative voice that needs to be expressed. Whether you have always wanted to paint, draw, write, make music, garden, cook or dance, now is the time to give your self permission to do it.

Gail also talked about the “positive power of mistakes, and our self-imposed limtations on the creative process.” Sometimes we get so wrapped up in our imaginations of failing, it paralyzes us and keeps us from doing and being who we were created to be. What if we were allowed to fail without being judged? What risks would we take? We may find that the real risk is the not stepping out. Once we can let go of that fear of looking foolish, we can relax and actually enjoy the process of creating something new.

So if there is that gnawing in your soul, that thing you’ve wanted to try, that art you’ve wanted to make, make it! Don’t be afraid. You are creative.

2 Comments

  1. Erin Prais-Hintz said,

    Yea! Let’s be creative! I am so glad that you joined the book club. Now we can blog and talk about it. I just posted my first as well. You are inspiration to me. And if you can’t be an inspiration to your friends, who can you be an inspiration to?
    Enjoy the day!
    Erin

  2. dreamsangel said,

    When I read your blog what really stood out for me is when you said “Sometimes we get so wrapped up in our imaginations of failing, it paralyzes us and keeps us from doing and being who we were created to be. What if we were allowed to fail without being judged?”
    This is so true. That really struck a cord for me. I have been so afraid to really let go, be myself and be creative. Volunteering has really been a huge eye opener for me and I intend to really pursue being creative!!!

Leave a Reply

