Thanks for three great years of Art Village

July 6, 2008 at 7:58 pm (Uncategorized)

Have you ever wondered how you got here? If you could go back in time 5 years, is this where you would have imagined yourself to be?

Four years ago, Art Village was a figment of my imagination. It was a crazy idea that was sketched in a notebook I carried around with me. Those notes and ideas eventually came together to form a business plan. And three years ago we opened our doors. This last Friday we celebrated our 3 year anniversary.

I remember opening day thinking, “Am I making the biggest mistake of my life?” It seemed like I was playing business. I wondered if anyone would show up to paint pottery or sign up for a class? The first day I think I had a couple people come in and look, but that was all. When the first people came in and actually sat down to paint something, I had to restrain myself from giving them all hugs.

Now three years later, we had a full house. It was so great to be with the people who started out as customers and have turned into friends. It seems that Art Village has become a part of many people’s lives. Now, I can’t even imagine not being here.

I am so fortunate to be surrounded by such creative and positive people. The artists who make art here and the staff that works with me every day are inspiring to be around. The business has really taken on a life of it’s own. And I can hardly wait to see what we’re going to be when we grow up.

Looking back on the journey so far, I think about how things have come to be. I don’t believe in randomness. I really believe our imaginations are powerful. An interesting thing happens when we start to imagine better things for our lives. Those thoughts embed themselves in our mind and we start to notice things that are related to those thoughts.

I’ve seen this phenomenon when people take a drawing class. Once they start looking at shapes, shadows and lines during class, they then start noticing these things in the world around them. Even though the world around them stays the same, they look at their world differently. They’re the ones who have grown and changed.

We can apply this principle to all areas of our lives. I want to encourage you to find a dream that you can set your passions towards. Every great accomplishment starts out as just an idea. It starts out as a figment of someone’s imagination. But the amazing thing is that those images can become reality. Grab your notebook and start scribbling down your crazy ideas. Your mind will start to search out things to help you reach your dreams. You’ll start noticing opportunities.

Art Saves Lives!

Leave a Reply

